Our Church Officers

2017 Officers/Leaders 
of the
First Presbyterian Church
Waterloo, Iowa

As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament Church provided persons with particular gifts to share in governing and ministry.  Elders are chosen by the people and should be persons of faith, dedication, and good judgment.  Their manner of life should be a demonstration of the Christian gospel, both within the church and in the world.  Together with ministers of the Word and Sacrament, they exercise leadership, government, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a particular church as well as the church at large, including ecumenical relationships.  They shall serve faithfully as members of the session.

FPC Elders
Donna Beaver
Jim Christensen
Tom Christensen
Dan Davis
Dan Klann
Kari O. Narey
Craig Sage
Jean Seeland
Nancy Valentine

Other FPC Leaders
Jean Seeand, Clerk of Session
Nancy Newhoff, Church Treasurer
Marie Fernau, Moderator of the Presbyterian Women in the Congregation
The office of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of sympathy, witness, and service after the example of Jesus Christ.  Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, of exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, warm sympathies, and sound judgment should be chosen for this office.  It is the duty of deacons, first of all, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith.

FPC Deacons

Lynda Cose
Beth Klann
Dee May
Marsha Muir
Mary Mumm
Richard Platt
Ann Sage
Terry Sage
Don Schwab

FPC Foundation
The First Presbyterian Church Foundation is an Iowa non-profit corporation which is to hold and manage funds coming to it from any source.  Also, it has an objective of a reasonable growth of principal as well as directing some funds into the current life and witness of the congregation.

     FPC Foundation Board
Jerry Anders
Jim Christensen, President
Erwin Jaeger
David Kabel
Jennifer Lightbody
Mary Mumm, Treasurer
Liz Poole
Stacy Robinson
Jean Seeland, Secretary

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the above groups, please do not hesitate to contact First Presbyterian Church at 319-233-6145.